Skip to content

In the Fight

July 22, 2009

I’m a wife and mother who is ‘in the fight’ and ‘pushing hard against a culture that is pushing hard against us’. That last bit of cleverness is not from me, it is a direct quote from a Christian leader and talk show personality, Matt Friedeman, whom my husband and I admire greatly.  We have decided to join in this fight with him.  There are several commitments/requirements that one must agree to in order to be a warrior in the fight.  Most of them were pretty easy for me to agree to follow.  The one that stumped me was the requirement to become involved in some charitable or volunteer group on a regular basis.  What?  I have donated cash (back when I had some) to charities, we tithe at church, but volunteer my time?  With a ‘brady bunch’ type family that much of the time consists of seven children running rampant in my home, undoing everything I just did to organize it, I don’t have anymore time!

However, I made the committment and began deliberating on what I was going to do to fulfill my promise.  I prayed and did rain dances and asked around and out of the blue came my answer.  I heard about a charitable project called Bella Hero which was begun by the creator of the award winning movie Bella. I won’t go into what the Bella Hero Project is all about, because that is not the point.  The point is that a native Texas princess — all grown up now and swept away by her life and family is heading up a huge fund raiser in August for this group.  Yes, me.  Anyone who knows me, might pause a bit upon the news.  I initiated contact, made all the arrangements, the creator of the movie and the project is coming to speak to the donors and guests.  I can’t even believe it.  Of course, I was just the vessel, it was G-d who worked through me to make it all happen.

I have realized that in leaving my comfort zone, I have grown in ways I never could have before.  Keep fighting.  Keep pushing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. texasgirrrl permalink
    July 25, 2009 4:28 am

    Awesome!!

  2. Seven permalink
    August 7, 2009 6:44 pm

    Interesting person you are.

Leave a Reply

